HomeFull FormPNB Full Form

PNB Full Form

What is the full form of PNB?

The PNB full form is Punjab National Bank. On April 12, 1895, it began operations in Lahore as one of India’s most reputable public sector banks. It was the first bank wholly controlled by the Indian people with Indian riches during British rule. Its headquarters can be found in New Delhi, India.

Read Other Full Forms

As of 1 April 2020, with the merger with the United Bank of India and Oriental Bank of Commerce, the bank has over 180 million customers, 10,910 branches, and 13,000+ ATM. It provides a comprehensive array of financial goods and services, including corporate, personal, foreign, and capital services.

PNB Full Form

International branches of PNB

  • PNB operates a subsidiary bank in the United Kingdom with seven locations, namely PNB International Bank.
  • PNB owns branches in Kowloon, Hong Kong, Dubai & Kabul.
  • It has representative offices in Kazakhstan (Almaty), Dubai, China (Shanghai), Norway (Oslo), and Australia (Sydney).
  • PNB owns 51% of Bhutan’s Druk PNB Bank, which has five locations.
  • PNB owns 20% of Nepal’s Everest Bank Limited, which has 50 branches.
  • PNB has 41.64 percent of JSC (SB) PNB Bank’s four branches in Kazakhstan.

A basic overview of PNB

  • PNB was incorporated under the Indian Companies Act in Lahore on May 19, 1984.
  • Lala Lajpat Rai, Lala Harkishan Lal, Dyal Singh Majithia, Shri E.C. Jessawala, Shri Kali Prasanna Roy, Shri Prabhu Dayal, and the founders of the Swadeshi movement founded the organization.
  • Early in her career, Lala Lajpat Rai was preoccupied with bank management.
  • On 12 April 1895, it began operations in Lahore, and in 1904 it had branches in Karachi and Peshawar.
  • In 1939, PNB bought Bhagwan Dass Bank Limited, and in 1961, it acquired the Universal Bank of India.
  • The Burmese government nationalizes the PNB’s Ragoon branch in 1963.
  • 1965, following the Indo-Pakistani War. The Pakistani government has seized Indian bank offices in Pakistan, including the PNB’s headquarters.
  • The Government of India nationalized PNB on July 19, 1969.
  • In 1978, PNB opened its first branch in London.
  • PNB purchased Hindustan Commercial Bank Limited in 1988.
  • The Indian government purchased and nationalized the New Bank of India in 1993. In 1980.
  • In 1998, the PNB established a registered office in Almaty, Kazakhstan.
  • PNB acquired Nedungadi Bank Ltd., located in Kozhikode, in 2003. The majority of this bank’s branches are now PNB branches.
  • In 2006, PNB built a branch in Uttarakhand and partnered with Indian Airlines to enable online booking of flight tickets.
  • PNB and NSBL formed an Internet trade partnership agreement in 2008. (Networth Stock Broking Ltd).
  • In 2011, it acquired a 33 percent share in Metlife.

Other Interesting Full Form